PART 1: COSMOLOGY – building your cosmos

  • Started with the 6 main areas of personal interest: drawing, colour, texture, newness, the natural world, individuality and identity,
  • Required a deep searching to arrive at these areas and then even more deep searching to explore them more fully.
  • It was like gathering fragments into one basket.

As part of the process I decided to take an object which I love and draw it to see what that told me. This was pretty basic analysis but I think it helped. I bought a large Amaryllis bulb, and just drew..

  • As strange as it may seem, I could see that this drawing and much of the information on the mind map were about identity and Australia. I don’t know why I love the old, the discarded, the seemingly ugly, the rough and the raw but I do. I see immense beauty in these things. It’s how I respond to the world.

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Part 1 Cosmology -building your cosmos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment