EXPLORING IDEAS FOR THE ARTIST’S STATEMENT

EXPLORING IDEAS FOR ARTIST’S STATEMENT

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Exploring ideas through drawing the Amaryllis bulb proved an interesting first step toward developing my artist’s statement. It was good to start with something I love. Ideas about ageing and the stereotypical concepts surrounding this have begun to develop in thought as I’ve been drawing. Just taking the outward appearance of the bulb – a rough, mis-shapen, dirty object and yet within that object is life itself. The tangle of roots appear useless and broken but there again lies the strong foundation for the new plant which will need a vigorous and strong base for the tall flower to remain upright.

My next series of drawings are developing these ideas through abstract markmaking. Throughout, I was looking for contrast in the marks. The main focus was on vigour and fragility. I don’t feel to have got to that outcome yet and perhaps the strong vigorous marks are too dominant. I don’t really mind that too much at this stage because I’m feeling that my work will be about challenging the stereotype of ageism. So perhaps it’s inevitable that the marks will be ‘strong’ and challenging.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Part 1 Cosmology - exploring ideas for artist's statement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment