Artist’s Statement

My artist’s statement

 

The initial focus of my work is on challenging ageist thinking and to enter the debate about an ‘ageing population.’ Natural forms, the landscape, ancient objects hold within themselves the richness of years and the narratives of memory. I am interested in finding a new concept of ‘old age’ through images of the natural world, not as a time of decrepitude and decay but of energy, promise and completion.

My work also explores the personal. I am in the process of authentically discovering myself and my life in these later years and communicating this understanding through painting. This mean a re-evaluation of what a creative life is. Years involved with children and the innovative decision-making which came with running a large organization are relevant to my position as a contemporary artist.

In essence, my work is saying that age is irrelevant to creativity and remaining contemporary. I will be looking at other artists who in their later years stay relevant to today’s conversations and are finding new and innovative ways of working.

 

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in ASSIGNMENTS - PART 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment